Abbot House is Dunfermline’s oldest house and is steeped in a rich heritage, dating back to at least the 16th century. Throughout this time, it has stood strong through the destruction of The Great Fire of 1624, national and international wars, and religious unrest.
The mid-section of the house was reputedly upgraded as a modest two-storey building for use by the Commendators of Dunfermline Abbey in the mid-1500s, around the time of The Scottish Reformation. In the 1990s evidence of a 14th-century tracery window was found on the 1st floor of the house, indicating the possibility of an earlier existence.
Over the following centuries, the building underwent several extensions and upgrades, resulting in the house that stands today.
For many years the house was known locally as ‘The Old Grey House’, but this changed to ‘The Pink House’ when the house was lime-washed pink in the 1990s. This was possibly its original colour when the limewash was often dyed with animal blood or earth pigment to give a distinctive pink colour.
The residents of Abbot House have been wide and varied, reputedly beginning with the Abbots and Commendators of Dunfermline Abbey. The most well known of which was Robert Pitcairn, a leading character in the protestant led Scottish Reformation of 1560, later becoming the Secretary of State for Scotland.